Bryce House on Garnish Island has undergone an extensive refurbishment. The cottage, which was originally built to the north east of the walled garden in 1912, has been restored to its original Edwardian picturesque style. Further works have been undertaken to facilitate visitors by making the cottage universally accessible. Now that the restoration is complete visitors can enjoy the cottage along with the wonderful gardens and picturesque views overlooking Glengarriff Bay.
The house was the home of the Bryce family from 1910 until the death of last owner Roland L’Estrange Bryce in 1953, when he gifted the 37 acre island with its world-famous gardens to the Irish people. The Bryce House was retained for the use of the family, until 1998 when the last occupant passed away.
Garnish Island was well chosen by the Bryce family to establish the wonderful gardens that are enjoyed by all who visit. The designs of Peto and Mackenzie’s continued hard work on developing these exotic grounds have delighted generations of visitors to the island. The Office of Public Works, along with Fáilte Ireland has carefully restored Bryce House so all can enjoy the history and magic of Garnish. This is a crucial role that the OPW plays in the heritage and tourism sector.
The house is now open to the public and there are tours of the house available until the end of October, which is the end of the visitor season on the island.