No visit to Garnish Island would now be complete without a visit to the famous Bryce House on Garnish Island, which has undergone extensive refurbishment and has been restored to its original Edwardian picturesque beauty. Visitors can enjoy the cottage along with the wonderful gardens and picturesque views overlooking Glengarriff Bay and the works carried out have also made the facilities universally accessible.
The house was the home of the Bryce family from 1910 until the death of last owner Roland L’Estrange Bryce in 1953, when he gifted the 37 acre island with its world-famous gardens to the Irish people. The Bryce House was retained for the use of the family, until 1998 when the last occupant passed away.
The Office of Public Works, along with Fáilte Ireland have carefully restored Bryce House so all can enjoy the history and magic of Garnish. This is a crucial role that the OPW plays in the heritage and tourism sector.
The house is now open to the public and there are tours of the house available until the end of October, which is the end of the visitor season on the island.